“You Get What You Get” – Lessons from “Pinkalicious” and other books

A friend of mine gave my daughter a couple of cute books – “Pinkalicious” and “Purplicious” And a line from “Pinkalicious” keeps recurring around our house.

Pinkalicious’ mom tells her, “You get what you get and you don’t throw a fit.”

What is it about some lines in books that kids grab a hold of and never forget? In any case, Emily has done just this. It certainly has come in handy for me in a pinch.

“Mama, I want [fill in the blank] to eat.”

“You can have a slice of apple, but I’m serving dinner soon.”

“BUT…” The whine begins.

“You get what you get.” I remind her gently.

“And you don’t throw a fit.” She responds.

“Exactly!”

And that’s it. That’s all it takes. Oh, thank you “Pinkalicious!”

Another favorite phrase around our house is “Green Eggs and Ham!” This usually comes up with new food or food we haven’t fixed in a while.

Emily looks over the food cooking on the stove, “I don’t want that!”

“Green eggs and ham,” I say to her, “Try it, try it and, you might like it!”

A small suffering sigh in reply, “Ohhkay.”

Sometimes she likes it, other times not, but at least she tried the food.

I look forward to the day she uses these phrases on me…

Leave a Reply

